Mutual Recognition Regulation across the EEA


The free movement of goods and services is a fundamental principle of the European Union (EU), which has benefited businesses and consumers by opening markets and stimulating trade between member states.

The Mutual Recognition Regulation (EC 764/2008), in force since May 2009, strengthens the operation of free trade in goods in the EU. It requires that all member states provide free information on their national technical rules and sets out a standard procedure for enforcing those rules.

The Regulation simplifies market entry for businesses as they are able to market and sell their goods in any or all of the 31 countries that make up the EEA based on recognition of their products in any member state.

Important: Following the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union, the UK will no longer fall within the scope of the mutual recognition principle.

Read the latest UK government guidance on trading under the mutual recognition principle if there’s no Brexit deal.

This guide explains the principle of mutual recognition and Mutual Recognition Regulation in other EU member states.