Get your tourism business quality graded

Tourism Quality Grading Scheme and five-star rating system

Tourism NI uses a one- to five-star rating system to indicate the standard of customer care and the quality of services and facilities on offer at assessed tourist establishments.

How does star-grading work?

The number of stars awarded indicates the levels of quality customers can expect of the assessed business:

  • five star – an exceptional, world-class standard
  • four star – an excellent standard 
  • three star – a very good standard
  • two star – good overall standard
  • one star – a fair and acceptable standard

Star gradings cover accommodation and tourism experiences, including:

  • serviced, self-catering and hostel accommodation
  • visitor experiences such as tours, activities centres and museums etc
  • caravan and camping parks

The awards focus on the standard of the welcome, hospitality and services provided, as well as presentation and the condition of available facilities.