Bank and public holidays in Northern Ireland

Guide

The expected dates and days of Northern Ireland bank and public holidays for this year, and the next year, are listed below.

Bank or Public Holiday 2021 2022
New Year's Day Fri 1 January Mon 3 January***
St Patrick's Day Wed 17 March Thu 17 March
Good Friday Fri 2 April Fri 15 April
Easter Monday Mon 5 Apr Mon 18 April
May Day Bank Holiday Mon 3 May Mon 2 May
Spring Bank Holiday Mon 31 May Thu 2 June****
Platinum Jubilee Bank Holiday - Fri 3 June****
Battle of the Boyne / Orangemen's Day Mon 12 July Tue 12 July
Summer Bank Holiday Mon 30 August Mon 29 August
Christmas Day Mon 27 December* Tue 27 December*****
Boxing Day Tue 28 December** Mon 26 December


*In 2021, as Christmas Day falls on a Saturday, the public holiday is given as the following Monday (27 December 2021).

**In 2021, as Boxing Day falls on a Sunday, the public holiday is given as the following Tuesday (28 December 2019).

***In 2022, as New Year's Day falls on a Saturday, the public holiday is given as the following Monday (3 January 2022).

****In 2022, there is an extra bank holiday to mark The Queen's Platinum Jubilee, this extra day is given as Friday 3 June and the Spring Bank Holiday has been moved to Thursday 2 June 2022 to accommodate this.

*****In 2022, as Christmas Day falls on a Sunday, the public holiday is given as the following Tuesday (27 December 2022).  

What are bank and public holidays?

Bank holidays are holidays when banks and many other businesses are closed for the day. Public holidays are holidays which have been observed through custom and practice, such as Christmas Day.

Special bank holidays

There are laws that allow the dates of bank holidays to be changed, or other holidays to be declared, for example to celebrate special occasions. For example there is an extra bank holiday to mark The Queen's Platinum Jubilee in 2022.

Time off for staff on bank or public holidays

As an employer, you don't have to provide paid leave on bank and public holidays, though many employers will provide this. Any right to time off or extra pay for working on a bank holiday depends on the terms of the employment contract with your employees.

Find out about employees' rights on pay and time off on public and bank holidays and for more information about paid leave, see know how much holiday to give your staff.