The Heritage Crafts Awards 2024

News article

Nominate yourself or fellow artisans for craft awards

The first round of the Heritage Crafts Awards in 2024 is now open for nominations. The Awards celebrate and highlight the traditional living crafts made in the UK that contribute to our national heritage.

With support from partner organisations, Heritage Crafts will award 12 prizes across seven award categories:

  • President’s Award for Endangered Crafts
  • Environmental Sustainability Award
  • Maker of the Year Awards
  • Trainer of the Year Award
  • Trainee of the Year Award
  • Community Catalyst of the Year Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

Under the Maker of the Year Award category, four £1,000 prizes will be given to heritage craftspeople in Northern Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales.

To win the Maker of the Year Award prize, the nominee must have had an outstanding contribution to their specific craft within the previous 12 months (since 1 March 2023). Their contribution must have been far beyond the ordinary, either in:

  • pushing their craft to new levels
  • contributing to its promotion
  • continuation in an exceptional way

An overall UK Maker of the Year will be selected from the four national winners, with their prize topped up to £2,000. Finalists will be expected to attend the high-profile Winners' Reception in November 2024.

How to apply

Applying for a Heritage Crafts Award is free. Nominees can be any age. Applicants may nominate themselves or can be nominated by others.

The deadline for nominations is 5pm on Friday 7 June 2024.

Nominate yourself or someone else for the Heritage Craft Awards.

First published 22 May 2024