Food Hygiene Rating Scheme


The Food Hygiene Rating Scheme is a rating from 0 to 5 that is given to a food business following a food hygiene inspection. A food safety officer from your local council will carry out the inspection. 

Food businesses that the council will inspect include: 

  • restaurants
  • pubs
  • cafes
  • takeaways
  • hotel
  • other places where food is served

Under the mandatory scheme, you must display your hygiene rating for your customers to see. 

The Food Hygiene Rating Scheme encourages food businesses to deliver high hygiene standards. The scheme is run by the Food Standards Agency (FSA) and local councils.

This guide explains how the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme works, including what the ratings mean and the rules for displaying and promoting your food hygiene rating.